Folk Forest at Tramlines 2013

The Folk Forest holds exclusive independents’ fair at Sheffield’s Tramlines Festival

Tramlines, Sheffield’s very own inner-city music festival begins today for it’s fifth year of music and festivities from all genres, tastes and countries. Tramlines promises to ‘show the world what Sheffield has to offer’ with a ‘bigger and better festival than ever before’.

Within this bigger city festival is what Gareth Roberts of Regather calls

 “A self–sustaining, independent festival within the Tramlines festival”.

The Folk Forest, held at Endcliffe Park on Saturday and Sunday, includes local producers selling local food, the Thornbridge brewery selling local ales and heritage areas celebrating the Porter Valley’s history of craft based trades within Sheffield’s steel industry.

Big Lad, a Clydesdale Logging Horse will be at The Folk Forest 2013

Big Lad, a Clydesdale Logging Horse will be at The Folk Forest 2013

The Folk Forest is also the only stage at Tramlines that can hold an art and crafts fair. The Folk Forest Fair includes over thirty independent arts, crafts and vintage markets all from Sheffield (apart from two). As a Regather initiative, the Folk Forest focuses on mutual local economy and thus local produce and the local economy are paramount to the festival.

Now in it’s third year, the festival began when Regather were invited by Tramlines to run a folk stage for the main festival in 2011. Gareth said:

“By 2012 we had blazed a trail for the way Tramlines wanted to become a city-wide festival, we introduced food sellers, local brewers, heritage craft areas and a Folk Forest fair to make this a festival with more than just music.”

This year the Folk Forest offers a tantalising line up of music:

Saturday 20th July

19:00 – This Is The Kit – www.thisisthekit.co.uk

18:00 – The Lost Brothers – www.thelostbrothersband.com

17:00 – The Payroll Union – www.thepayrollunion.com

16:00 – Rozi Plain – www.roziplain.co.uk

15:00 – The Little Mesters Label Showcase – www.littlemestersrc.bandcamp.com

14:00 – Captives On The Carousel – www.captivesonthecarousel.co.uk

13:00 – Early Cartographers – www.earlycartographers.moonfruit.com

12:00 – Open Djs

Sunday 21st July

19:00 – John Smith – www.johnsmithjohnsmith.com

18:00 – Woolly Mammoth – www.woollymammothmusic.com

17:00 – Neil McSweeney – www.myspace.com/neilmcsweeney

16:00 – Brulle – http://www.barruletrio.com/

15:00 – Bridie Jackson & The Arbour – www.bridiejackson.com

14:00 – The Mother Folkers – www.themotherfolkersmusic.bandcamp.com

13:00 – Carl Woodford – www.carlwoodford.com

12:00 – Open DJs

Folk Forest Fair at Tramlines 2013

Folk Forest Fair at Tramlines 2013

The fair also includes an exciting list of contemporary art and craft, books, photography, vintage clothing and music memorabilia from Sheffield’s finest independents. Here is a small taster of what you can expect:

Arts and crafts / Designers / Jewellery

Cardinky | www.cardinky.com

3rdesign | www.folksy.com/shops/3rdesign

Billigoat Designs Stained Glass | www.billigoatdesigns.co.uk

Butterscotch & Beesting | www.butterscotchandbeesting.com

chasethecloudsaway | www.facebook.com/chasethecloudsawayetsycom

Escafeld Designs | www.escafelddesigns.co.uk

JEMS | www.jewellerybyems

Katie Stainer Contemporary Origami | www.katiestainer.co.uk

Beaumont Bags | www.beaumontbags.com

Little Denim | www.facebook.com/LittleDenim

Nuada Accessories | www.nuadaaccessories.co.uk

Sew Jolly in Sheffield | www.sewjolly.wordpress.co.uk

Teawear | www.tea-wear.co.uk

Touchy Feely Textiles | www.touchyfeelytextiles.co.uk

We Live Here | www.welivehere.co.uk

 

Vintage / Clothing

Fox & Gingerbread | www.foxandgingerbread.co.uk

Heavens to Betsy | www.iloveheavenstobetsy.com

Localed Clothing| www.localed.co.uk

Octavi | www.octavi.etsy.com

Poco Nido | www.poconido.com

Songbead | www.songbead.etsy.com & www.songbead.folksy.com

 

Music memorabilia

When The Music’s Over | www.whenthemusicsover.folksy.com

 

Photography

Photographs By Charlotte Newton | www.photographsbcyharlottenewton.com

 

Books

Usborne Books from Raring to Read | www.raringtoread.co.uk

 

Artists / Steelware

James Green – Printworks | www.folksy.com/shops/jamesgreenprintworks

A&D Creations | http://www.andcreations-sheffield.co.uk

Lyndsey Green Illustration | www.lyndseygreen.co.uk

The Famous Sheffield Shop | www.sheffield-made.com

 

Creative Collectives

Knife & Folk | www.facebook.com/knifeandfolksheffield

 

Please note: These are very rough categorisations simply to help you decide what is of interest to you, as many of these independents fit into more than one category.



There are 2 comments

Add yours

Comments are closed.